Skip navigation

It has been a tough last few days. My grandpa (from my mom’s side) died Wednesday morning. It happened around 5am. At about 6am I was still sleeping in bed when my phone rang and it was my dad. He told me the news and said to get ready so I could see his body before it is removed. We got over there around 6:30am or so and walked to my grandparents room (assisted living place). I walk in first and notice my mom and my grandma on the phone talking to people. They noticed that we walked in and I hugged them. Then I went in and saw my grandpa’s body. I had no idea what to think. It was like my mind shutdown on me. After a minute or so I turned around and sat on the couch. I ended up falling asleep. I awoke to find my brother, the good aunt, her boyfriend, and one of my cousins in the room. Cries and tears later the people came to take the body. I stood outside the room while they put my grandpa’s body on the gurney. They put a white cloth over him and wheeled him out. Everyone followed except for me. I sat on the chair outside the room and told my dad I would follow in a second. Instead the emotions I kept inside hit me and I went into the bathroom and broke down. As everyone came back they found me.

I ended up going back home and my parents went to take care of things for the funeral services. That is pretty much how it has been since then. Now the funeral is tomorrow. It will be tough.

Leave a Reply

